Inside-out Caramel Apples!

Posted on

Celebrate fall with a unique twist on the caramel apple: soft creamy caramel and chocolate on the INSIDE of the apple! Happy October to YOU!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 12-16 medium apples
  • 1 to 2 cups of 7-up
  • 32 Kraft caramels (unwrapped)
  • 1 can (14oz.) of sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 c. margarine
  • 6 oz. Wilton Dark Candy Cocoa Melts

(note: these amounts will make more caramel sauce than you need – you can cut the ingredients in half, but then you will have 1/2 of a can of condensed milk left-??!!  I say put the extra caramel sauce over ice cream 🙂 your call….)

DIRECTIONS:

  • Cut top off of apple, scoop out core and seeds with a melon baller
  • Fill apple “cup” with 7-up and use a kitchen brush to coat edges and top  with 7-up (this will prevent browning).









  • Repeat process with all apples (re-use the 7-up if you want- just pour it from one cup to the next!)
  • Make caramel sauce by adding caramels, condensed milk and margarine to a saucepan and stirring over medium heat until completely melted and smooth.
  • Melt chocolate in microwave in 30 second increments until smooth.
  • Spoon or pipe chocolate into apple cups, saving a little to drizzle on top.
  • Spoon or pipe caramel (cool a little 1st if you decide to pipe this!) into apple cups over chocolate.
  • Drizzle chocolate over top of caramel and serve warm and gooey- or chill and serve cold-mmmm!

My thoughts: No worries– I’m sure a “normal” caramel apple post is in my future– I just wanted something different from the expected.  These really are a beautiful dessert- serve them with a knife and a fork though- they are a wonderful gooey mess if you serve them warm!  Hope you enjoy these!  -r

About Ruthanne

Ruthanne is a scientist with a passion for baking and food photography. Using her kitchen as a lab, she loves experimenting with a variety of flavors and ingredients to create unique, fun and ultimately tasty delights! Thus she created EasyBaked, a website where sugar and chocolate overflow in fun and easy recipes. Her Motto: Money can’t buy happiness -- but it can buy marshmallows, and that’s nearly the same thing! www.easybaked.net

30 responses »

  1. These pictures are so amazing! I just wanted to eat my screen. Such a good recipe!

    Reply
  2. Hi Again 🙂
    Now I’d loooove to feature this apple recipe (with a link of course) on another site I work on…Ganz Parent Club but I need to email confirmation. Please reach out…kitb (at) ganz (dot) com. I’m writing about unique ways to eat/cook and apple.
    This is great!

    Reply
  3. Katherine’s been wanting to make baked apples, but hasn’t found the right recipe/inspiration. I think this is it. Seriously looks just wonderful.

    Reply
  4. Angie Staedtler

    Loved this one and it arrived just in time for me to make some for our meeting tomorrow! Thank you. Just a note, I had about half of the carmel mixture left-over, but maybe that’s because I didn’t remove enough of the center of the apple. It does make a great dipping sauce now though. Happy October!

    Reply
    • Glad you tried them:) ( they have condensed milk and Kraft caramels in Prague??!!). I had leftover caramel too- I will add a note in the recipe:). Thanks Angie!!!

      Reply
      • Angie Staedtler

        Yes and no…all the little groceries seem to carry the sweetened condensed milk. However, I was shocked last night when I went to the store and saw caramels. They certainly aren’t Kraft but I was so thankful that they actually melted and tasted like what I remembered from the States! I was all prepared to make a caramel sauce from honey, cream, and sugar but then as I was getting in line to check out, I saw these caramels in a little candy section, all the way on the bottom row, at the end of an isle. I almost fell over with excitement. Your reaction was the same as mine here. They have caramels in Prague??!! 🙂 I also meant to tell you, like Dawn said, that I loved your creative genius on these. I didn’t have any popsicle sticks or candy thermometers and didn’t really have time to go searching for those this week, but really wanted to take caramel apples tomorrow, so your recipe was truly a blessing! I also love the photos. Keep up all of the creating!

        Reply
  5. These look amazing!

    The person I’m sitting next to just looked over at my computer and said “Are those apples?! Oh my goodness, those look deadly! I’m drooling!” I agree with them.

    Reply
  6. ru…you are a genius! they look DELIC..can’t wait to make & eat ’em:)

    Reply
  7. What a beautiful and unique creations. Love this gooey mess! Happy weekend!

    Reply
  8. the picture does them justice, however, I just ate one and there’s a party in my belly !!

    mmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  9. oh wow what a fantastic idea. looks so good!

    Reply
  10. Awesome looking caramel apples!

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Design Crush » Happy Weekend

  12. Pingback: Boo! | Notions

  13. Pingback: Apple Recipe Round Up – Bites From Other Blogs

  14. What a great idea! I wouldn’t have thought of this!

    Reply
  15. I have to say thank you…thank you..thank you..thank you! I made these today before my husabnd’s annual “Harvest Party” with friends and coworkers and what a HIT! The only change I made was I added a cinnamon and sugar to the inside and rim of the apples before I added the chocolate and caramel and boy, oh boy were these a hit (and SO easy to make)! These will be made every fall and for every get tother throughout fall for years to come! I also used your caramel recipe/directions to make another batch of caramel for the vanilla ice cream served on the side. YUM!Thank you again!

    Reply
    • Ah! You are SO welcome. Your comment made my day– the cinnamon and sugar idea sounds wonderful! I’m so glad they were such a hit for you! Thanks for telling us about them!

      Reply
  16. Pingback: Inside Out Caramel ApplesDanish's Story | Danish's Story

  17. Pingback: Inside Out Caramel ApplesThe Forex Commercial | The Forex Commercial

Leave a comment